What a week… What a world…

Have you ever had one of those days where it feels the universe is plotting against you? Where it seems like everything that could possibly go wrong, does? Where you feel like you’re only just barely keeping your head above water? Yeah, the last month has sort of felt like that for me.

I’m married to a cop; a Michigan State Police Trooper. I have three kids. The newest one just joined our family about 12 weeks ago. I work full-time; with cops (different agency than my husband, but law enforcement none-the-less). And I’m working on my Master’s degree right now (in, what else, Law Enforcement/Public Safety Administration). My world is crazy with a capital ‘C’.

I felt like my world was spinning out of control after returning to work from maternity leave. I felt like, ‘Woe is me… I’m so busy.’ I was grumpy and frustrated and ‘didn’t have time’ to read my kids their bedtime stories anymore. I was stressing over things like laundry, dirty dishes, schedule conflicts and deadlines. I was frustrated that I hadn’t even had time to get all the Christmas presents wrapped.

And then December 14th, 2012 came along. The entire nation stood in disbelief as more than two dozen innocent victims were gunned down at Sandy Hook Elementary. Twenty of them were six and seven-year-old children. And all of a sudden the dishes and the laundry didn’t matter. All of a sudden the schedules cleared and gave way to simple family time. All of a sudden I didn’t care that the gifts hadn’t been wrapped yet. I was just so thankful to have my children here to get the gifts on Christmas morning.

2 thoughts on “What a week… What a world…

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Life can get crazy, but our kids need us and this was a big wake-up call for us too. Dishes can wait, laundry can wait, but our kids need us to be there for them now.

  2. You are so right, those tragic times that others must endure often slap you right in the face when you think your life has issues. I still have tears in my eyes whenever I think of all those babies.

Leave a Reply

